Winter Surf on Ocean Point

Winter Surf on Ocean Point, 9 x 12, oil on linen, en plein air

Winter-Surf-on-Ocean-Point_web

When I’m not sure what to paint, I often drive around Boothbay looking for inspiration.  On this late February day, the winds were howling and the surf was roaring, and it was the challenge of plein air painting in these conditions that inspired me.  An unexpected issue was brought on by the colder temperatures… the paint was thicker and much harder to move around the canvas, which surprised me and forced me to adapt from my normal style of painting.

Leave a Reply

